Reviews

18 December 2017

5/5 Stars

 

18 December 2017

I ate at the Oddfellows last night, having not been for several years. Probably the best burger I've eaten, and the new wine list is fantastic. Brilliant

 

1 January at 21:36

New Year's Day lunch was brilliant. Our party of 20 all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Staff very friendly and a great atmosphere. Home made cheesecake was awesome!! We will defiantly be back very soon

 

18 December 2017

Friendly staff and fabulous food. The burger & chips was a real treat! I look forward to another visit.

 

30 December

5/5 Stars

Summary
4.7

Another great stay - Rating 5/5

Have just returned from two nights at the Oddfellows Arms . Another great stay . Service excellent & friendly . Food wonderful ; the Rib Eye steaks best we have tasted . Overall another outstanding stay . See you soon .

Reviewer: Ian | Wed 21st Feb 2024 | 11 hours ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

The building is full of traditional charm and log fires, Our room was lovely really nice and comfortable. The staff were all fantastic nothing was to much trouble, Emma and James were the perfect hosts and run a superb establishment.The food was out of this world we loved it all. Although this was our first visit it, it will NOT be the last.

Reviewer: Jim| Sun 18th Feb 2024 | 3 days ago


Cumbria Way traveller - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay after a hard days walk over Skiddaw and Great Calva. Burger was delicious as was the full English the following morning. Comfortable room and friendly staff.

Reviewer: Edward S | Wed 14th Feb 2024 | 1 week ago


New year getaway - Rating 5/5

Excellent 2 night New Year Break. We loved that the pub has remained traditional offering good real ales and welcoming all. The refurbished rooms separate to the main building were very quiet and , excellent shower and comfortable bed. Both nights evening meals were excellent - pasta special, burger, steak and curry chosen - excellent quality and plenty of accompaniments. Breakfast was nicely served though some fresh fruit and yogurt would have been appreciated. Very good local poached eggs.Overall an excellent base in the beautiful well preserved village of Caldbeck.

Reviewer: Vanda H | Tue 2nd Jan 2024 | 1 month ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Both the Pub & accommodation were excellent . Food was absolutely lovely . Staff very friendly . Location marvellous . We will certainly be staying at the Oddfellows Arms again .

Reviewer: Ian M | Tue 19th Dec 2023 | 2 months ago


Hope to be back with the Mrs. - Rating 5/5

I arrived at the Oddfellows, in the dark,after a 15 mile slog on foot from Keswick. Around 3 pm I'd been on top of High Pike at the same time as Storm Elin so I was drenched and well chilled.The welcome from pub staff and locals was warm, friendly and efficient.My room was cosy and had two belting radiators. I left the next morning with dry kit. Breakfast was tasty and, once again,the service was friendly. Oh,and I enjoyed the grilled cod, chips and peas in the evening. Caldbeck is a charming village. A good-value stay.

Reviewer: Robin B | Mon 11th Dec 2023 | 2 months ago


Welcoming, clean & comfortable with good food - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed yet another good stay at Oddfellows. Thank youA special mention for the showers which are excellent

Reviewer: Tony C | Sat 9th Dec 2023 | 2 months ago


Cosy stay in Cumbria - Rating 5/5

Another very happy stay at The Oddfellows in the charming village of Caldbeck. Dinner in the bar by a warm log fire (or in the restaurant if we wanted). Always opportunities to chat with the locals and maybe challenge them to a (competitive) game of dominoes. Excellent breakfasts. Friendly and attentive staff. Have been coming here for years and hope to continue to do so.

Response

Always A pleasure to have you both, hope to see you again soon. Emma x

Reviewer: Brian E | Thu 16th Nov 2023 | 3 months ago


Great pub and food very good - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay room very tidy and clean and staff were very helpful

Response

Thank you Steven, hope to see you again soon

Reviewer: Steven| Sat 4th Nov 2023 | 3 months ago


Great welcome and service- Rating 5/5

I have stayed here on numerous occasion's , very friendly , great food , good selection of beers , fabulous location . Rooms are simple and clean .Highly recommend .

Response

Thanks Shaun, see you again soon

Reviewer: Shaun | Thu 2nd Nov 2023 | 3 months ago