Reviews

What people are saying about Oddfellows Arms


18 December 2017

5/5 Stars

 

18 December 2017

I ate at the Oddfellows last night, having not been for several years. Probably the best burger I've eaten, and the new wine list is fantastic. Brilliant

 

1 January at 21:36

New Year's Day lunch was brilliant. Our party of 20 all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Staff very friendly and a great atmosphere. Home made cheesecake was awesome!! We will defiantly be back very soon

 

18 December 2017

Friendly staff and fabulous food. The burger &chips was a real treat! I look forward to another visit.

 

30 December

5/5 Stars



Saturday 26th January - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay - thank you.Just checking - do I still owe for the room?If not please let me know.thanksRobert

Reviewer:Robert T | Mon 28th Jan 2019 | 6 months ago


Great Weekend despite Storm Deidre! - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcoming atmosphere as we arrived early Friday evening. Group of friendly locals at the bar made us feel at home. Their dog liked us!Shown to our room by bar staff, it was what we expected of a Country in - nearr clean and well presented and despite the 2 degree tempreature outside was nice and warm.After settling in we rrepaired to the bar for some refreshment - a wide choice if gin for gin drinkers and wonderful real ale by Jennings.We had a nice corner table for our evening meal which was very good, I had soup(which I almost always do) and my wife chase from the menu. We both had the Beef and ale pie which was delicious and very filling. We had to wait for our curses as each dish was freshly prepared. Found a very nicechilean merslot to wash it all down with.Breakfast was very good - full English set us up for the the day (storm Deidre included) spent a great morning in Keswick Christmas shopping and ony when we stopped for a light lunch did Deidre close i. We moved on to Penrith and, as the weather was so cold moved back to the Oddfellows Armas whre we spent a pleasant couple of hours i the bar - warming our innards with a single malt(me) and my wife tried one the the many gins.Staff warm and friendly, nothing too much trouble. James and Emma the proprietors were very welcoming, they have only been there for 11 months and are working to upgrade the establishment - a large task. They were pleasant friendly and genuiney wanted to give us a good experience.The Bar and restaurant were very homely and the rooms comfortable. looking forward to seeing the further improvements when we visit again in 2019.Jame food is amazing - had a curry to die for. An Indonesian beef- James is a chef with international experience and Emma is an amazing hostess.Great value for money and first class food.

Reviewer:ALAN T | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


Great Weekend despite Storm Deidre! - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcoming atmosphere as we arrived early Friday evening. Group of friendly locals at the bar made us feel at home. Their dog liked us!Shown to our room by bar staff, it was what we expected of a Country in - nearr clean and well presented and despite the 2 degree tempreature outside was nice and warm.After settling in we rrepaired to the bar for some refreshment - a wide choice if gin for gin drinkers and wonderful real ale by Jennings.We had a nice corner table for our evening meal which was very good, I had soup(which I almost always do) and my wife chase from the menu. We both had the Beef and ale pie which was delicious and very filling. We had to wait for our curses as each dish was freshly prepared. Found a very nicechilean merslot to wash it all down with.Breakfast was very good - full English set us up for the the day (storm Deidre included) spent a great morning in Keswick Christmas shopping and ony when we stopped for a light lunch did Deidre close i. We moved on to Penrith and, as the weather was so cold moved back to the Oddfellows Armas whre we spent a pleasant couple of hours i the bar - warming our innards with a single malt(me) and my wife tried one the the many gins.Staff warm and friendly, nothing too much trouble. James and Emma the proprietors were very welcoming, they have only been there for 11 months and are working to upgrade the establishment - a large task. They were pleasant friendly and genuiney wanted to give us a good experience.The Bar and restaurant were very homely and the rooms comfortable. looking forward to seeing the further improvements when we visit again in 2019.Jame food is amazing - had a curry to die for. An Indonesian beef- James is a chef with international experience and Emma is an amazing hostess.Great value for money and first class food.

Reviewer:ALAN T | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


lakes - Rating 4/5

Nose room but heating not to good

Response

Thanks for your feedback, yes we had issue this week in the main building, we did ask guests to move to the second accommodation building so we could repair but no one, including yourself wanted to move.This issue was resolved today as my plumber could access all rooms.we hope to see you here again soon

Reviewer:Mr stephen r | Wed 12th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


Perfect place to stay for walkers - Rating 5/5

I stayed here 1 night with a friend as we walked the Cumbria Way. The room was located in a building next to the pub. Great accomodation. We had dinner and breakfast in the pub. Good quality and nice atmosphere full of locals. Would definately recommend this place.

Reviewer:Tijs D | Mon 8th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


great place to stay - Rating 5/5

nice and friendly place and made welcome, good evening meal and hearty breakfast , room was good too.

Reviewer:David D | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Fantastic food - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable accommodation - could do with a shelf in the bathroom would be my only complaint. The food in the restaurant is absolutely fantastic - what incredible value for money and top drawer. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Penny D | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


More than satisfied. - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room, well priced, and an enormous breakfast. Had dinner on the evening I arrived and it was equally as good.

Reviewer:Donald S | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


winter walker - Rating 4/5

Great room at a very competitive price. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hearty breakfast ideal for a walker on the Cumbrian way. Good evening menu too. Some aspects of the room were a bit "tired", but for my purpose this was not a great concern.

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon H | Mon 16th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Christmas stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 3 nights, room was clean, warm and cosy. Breakfasts were freshly cooked with plenty of choice and the staff welcoming and made us feel very much at home. Would definitely return again.

Reviewer:Mr. Noel R | Wed 21st Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Non technical Bar Staff - Rating 4/5

Whilst the accommodation was well up to the standard I would expect for the price. I was disappointed that the bar staff started cleaning the beer pipes at half past eight, as no other customers were in the restaurant or bar. This gave me the impression they wanted me to leave as well.As the television in my room was not working and nobody seemed interested in fixing it, this made for a long and boring evening.However the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Bernie E | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


overnight stop Cumbria way - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, made welcoming. Food in bar at night was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent thoroughly recommend the full English. Room was good water was hot and the heating was also good. Only one negative was that the shower could have been a little more powerful.

Reviewer:Mr. SHAUN M | Sun 2nd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


accommidation - Rating 4/5

I was travelling with my brother as we were walking the Cumbria way,but on arrival we found we had been given a room with a double bed and I specifically booked a twin bedded room.Fortunateley another customer could do a swap with us.Apart from that everything else was excellent,so many thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. graham b | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Country Retreat