Reviews

What people are saying about Oddfellows Arms


18 December 2017

5/5 Stars

 

18 December 2017

I ate at the Oddfellows last night, having not been for several years. Probably the best burger I've eaten, and the new wine list is fantastic. Brilliant

 

1 January at 21:36

New Year's Day lunch was brilliant. Our party of 20 all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Staff very friendly and a great atmosphere. Home made cheesecake was awesome!! We will defiantly be back very soon

 

18 December 2017

Friendly staff and fabulous food. The burger &chips was a real treat! I look forward to another visit.

 

30 December

5/5 Stars



Hidden gem - Rating 5/5

The Oddfellows Arms is a very welcoming place to stay. The food, service is excellent. The rooms warm, clean and good value for money.

Reviewer:Ellen J | Thu 20th Feb 2020 | 4 months ago


Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

The oddfellows is a hidden gem. I found the staff to be very friendly, with good service. The room was very comfortable and cosy.

Reviewer:Ellen J | Thu 24th Oct 2019 | 8 months ago


Day 4 of the Cumbria way - Rating 5/5

Fab hotel right on the way. Food great both in the evening and the breakfast. Bar manager kind and understanding that we were walkers. Room clean and good toiletries in room

Reviewer:Rhona O | Sat 19th Oct 2019 | 8 months ago


Mid week stay - Rating 5/5

The Oddfellows Arms is a lovely place to stay. Staff friendly and the service both in the bar and restaurant excellent.The food both breakfast and evening meals were fantastic and good portions. We stayed in the annex part . These room could possibly do with a upgrade , though the beds and pillows were comfy . Overall I’d definitely recommend the Oddfellows Arms to anyone

Reviewer:Scott C | Fri 13th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


One Nights Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent for walkers on the Cumbria Way!

Reviewer:David R | Fri 13th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


Another great success - Rating 5/5

We previously stayed here in December 2018 - the weekend of hurricane Deirdre.We found it so warm and welcoming in the austere weather. So much so that we decided w would visit again in 2019. so this was our return visit.Wow the newly refurbished King size room was great. The bed comfortable. The welcome was amazing and the warmth of the atmosphere on out arrival was good.We look after our grandchildren and this was a welcome break in which to 'chill'. So 19th - 23rd of August was our dates.Ehr food was excellent with a good menu to choose from, and if you drink gin - 40 different kinds - my wife who drinks little got hooked on the strewberry and ginger - with ginger!!! Me there were so many different lakeland ales to choose from.The breakfast menu was si,ple and straightforward - me I enjoyed the full english and my wife scrambled egg on toast plus mushrooms which were nit on the menu but added without a problem. Well supplied with pots of coffee as well - a strict demand in my case.All of the staff were amazing and helpful - Emma one of the proprietors had a warm greeting for everyone - James{her partner} we ssaw little of as hebeevered in the Kitchen producing the excellent quality food. Every meal individually prepared and cooked unlike some of thr big chains where it goes straight from freezer to microwave. Still being patient gave the opportunity to sample the wines from their wine list.We have recommended a number of friends through the last 7 months and none of them have they have all been full of praise.Looking forward to our nexr Cumbrian break - guess where - The Oddfellows Arms, Caldbeck. So easy to get to from our home city - just over 2.5 hours drive.ROOM 12 here we come again!!{soon I hope}

Reviewer:Alan T | Sun 25th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


A great pub with fantastic food - Rating 5/5

The Oddfellows was the perfect place to spend the last night of our Cumbria Way walk. The staff were extremely attentive and very friendly and the twin room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. My only complaint would be that the shower was very weak. The food however was amazing! We had the lamb shank and the drunk cow steak and ale pie and both were incredibly good. The best food on the trip and we’ve eaten well the whole way! The cooked breakfast in the morning was also superb. I would definitely recommend the Oddfellows to anyone staying in Caldbeck. Book a table for dinner though as it was very busy when we were there.

Reviewer:Naomi T | Sat 17th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Really lovely hospitality - Rating 5/5

We stayed a night after walking from Carlisle and enjoyed a clean and comfortable room. It was quite and the bed was soft. No WiFi in room, but fibe in bar. What struck us was the quality of the staff. We thought Mike was fabulous and really an example to how hospitality everywhere should be. The man with the beard at breakfast was so chirpy and smiling at that time of day and the lady with the amazing tattoo on her back was an angel. Thank you for a fabulous stay and start to our Cumbria Way.

Reviewer:simon m | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Great Allrounder - Rating 5/5

Staff flexible and accommodating. Rooms clean and comfortable. Restaurant, food and beer all excellent.

Reviewer:Paul T | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 12 months ago


Cumbria Way Travel - Rating 5/5

Great location and a very warm welcome. Caldbeck is. Great village to visit. The food here was excellent I enjoyed my evening meal after a walk from Keswick via Skiddaw. Rooms were clean and well furnished, a little tired in places. Overall I’d recommend the Oddfellows Arms for their hospitality, food and accommodation.

Reviewer:Mike J | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Outstanding Service - Rating 5/5

From the minute I arrived I was made to feel welcome. The owners are friendly and happy to see you, especially if you've had a long day walking the Cumbria Way. The rooms are a little dated but remember it is a pub and the owners have prioritised the essentials (i.e. A lovely new mattress in the room). Would thoroughly recommend a stay to any walker.

Reviewer:Ian W | Sat 25th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Cumbria Way - Rating 5/5

We arrived here having walked almost 18 miles from Keswick the long way round due to poor weather over the top.We got a warm welcome, the room was clean and functional with a very comfy bed.The food is excellent and the atmosphere and friendliness of the Bar &Restaurant is brilliant.

Reviewer:Margaret C | Tue 7th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Saturday 26th January - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay - thank you.Just checking - do I still owe for the room?If not please let me know.thanksRobert

Reviewer:Robert T | Mon 28th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Great Weekend despite Storm Deidre! - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcoming atmosphere as we arrived early Friday evening. Group of friendly locals at the bar made us feel at home. Their dog liked us!Shown to our room by bar staff, it was what we expected of a Country in - nearr clean and well presented and despite the 2 degree tempreature outside was nice and warm.After settling in we rrepaired to the bar for some refreshment - a wide choice if gin for gin drinkers and wonderful real ale by Jennings.We had a nice corner table for our evening meal which was very good, I had soup(which I almost always do) and my wife chase from the menu. We both had the Beef and ale pie which was delicious and very filling. We had to wait for our curses as each dish was freshly prepared. Found a very nicechilean merslot to wash it all down with.Breakfast was very good - full English set us up for the the day (storm Deidre included) spent a great morning in Keswick Christmas shopping and ony when we stopped for a light lunch did Deidre close i. We moved on to Penrith and, as the weather was so cold moved back to the Oddfellows Armas whre we spent a pleasant couple of hours i the bar - warming our innards with a single malt(me) and my wife tried one the the many gins.Staff warm and friendly, nothing too much trouble. James and Emma the proprietors were very welcoming, they have only been there for 11 months and are working to upgrade the establishment - a large task. They were pleasant friendly and genuiney wanted to give us a good experience.The Bar and restaurant were very homely and the rooms comfortable. looking forward to seeing the further improvements when we visit again in 2019.Jame food is amazing - had a curry to die for. An Indonesian beef- James is a chef with international experience and Emma is an amazing hostess.Great value for money and first class food.

Reviewer:ALAN T | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Weekend despite Storm Deidre! - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcoming atmosphere as we arrived early Friday evening. Group of friendly locals at the bar made us feel at home. Their dog liked us!Shown to our room by bar staff, it was what we expected of a Country in - nearr clean and well presented and despite the 2 degree tempreature outside was nice and warm.After settling in we rrepaired to the bar for some refreshment - a wide choice if gin for gin drinkers and wonderful real ale by Jennings.We had a nice corner table for our evening meal which was very good, I had soup(which I almost always do) and my wife chase from the menu. We both had the Beef and ale pie which was delicious and very filling. We had to wait for our curses as each dish was freshly prepared. Found a very nicechilean merslot to wash it all down with.Breakfast was very good - full English set us up for the the day (storm Deidre included) spent a great morning in Keswick Christmas shopping and ony when we stopped for a light lunch did Deidre close i. We moved on to Penrith and, as the weather was so cold moved back to the Oddfellows Armas whre we spent a pleasant couple of hours i the bar - warming our innards with a single malt(me) and my wife tried one the the many gins.Staff warm and friendly, nothing too much trouble. James and Emma the proprietors were very welcoming, they have only been there for 11 months and are working to upgrade the establishment - a large task. They were pleasant friendly and genuiney wanted to give us a good experience.The Bar and restaurant were very homely and the rooms comfortable. looking forward to seeing the further improvements when we visit again in 2019.Jame food is amazing - had a curry to die for. An Indonesian beef- James is a chef with international experience and Emma is an amazing hostess.Great value for money and first class food.

Reviewer:ALAN T | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


lakes - Rating 4/5

Nose room but heating not to good

Response

Thanks for your feedback, yes we had issue this week in the main building, we did ask guests to move to the second accommodation building so we could repair but no one, including yourself wanted to move.This issue was resolved today as my plumber could access all rooms.we hope to see you here again soon

Reviewer:Mr stephen r | Wed 12th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect place to stay for walkers - Rating 5/5

I stayed here 1 night with a friend as we walked the Cumbria Way. The room was located in a building next to the pub. Great accomodation. We had dinner and breakfast in the pub. Good quality and nice atmosphere full of locals. Would definately recommend this place.

Reviewer:Tijs D | Mon 8th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


great place to stay - Rating 5/5

nice and friendly place and made welcome, good evening meal and hearty breakfast , room was good too.

Reviewer:David D | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic food - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable accommodation - could do with a shelf in the bathroom would be my only complaint. The food in the restaurant is absolutely fantastic - what incredible value for money and top drawer. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Penny D | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


More than satisfied. - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room, well priced, and an enormous breakfast. Had dinner on the evening I arrived and it was equally as good.

Reviewer:Donald S | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


winter walker - Rating 4/5

Great room at a very competitive price. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hearty breakfast ideal for a walker on the Cumbrian way. Good evening menu too. Some aspects of the room were a bit "tired", but for my purpose this was not a great concern.

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon H | Mon 16th Jan 2017 | 3 years ago


Christmas stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 3 nights, room was clean, warm and cosy. Breakfasts were freshly cooked with plenty of choice and the staff welcoming and made us feel very much at home. Would definitely return again.

Reviewer:Mr. Noel R | Wed 21st Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Non technical Bar Staff - Rating 4/5

Whilst the accommodation was well up to the standard I would expect for the price. I was disappointed that the bar staff started cleaning the beer pipes at half past eight, as no other customers were in the restaurant or bar. This gave me the impression they wanted me to leave as well.As the television in my room was not working and nobody seemed interested in fixing it, this made for a long and boring evening.However the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Bernie E | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


overnight stop Cumbria way - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, made welcoming. Food in bar at night was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent thoroughly recommend the full English. Room was good water was hot and the heating was also good. Only one negative was that the shower could have been a little more powerful.

Reviewer:Mr. SHAUN M | Sun 2nd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


accommidation - Rating 4/5

I was travelling with my brother as we were walking the Cumbria way,but on arrival we found we had been given a room with a double bed and I specifically booked a twin bedded room.Fortunateley another customer could do a swap with us.Apart from that everything else was excellent,so many thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. graham b | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Great atmospheric dog friendly place - Rating 5/5

A welcoming friendly place with helpful staff and good food and ale. Quiet rooms for a restful night and set in a charming village. All this at a reasonable price. We will be back

Reviewer:Mr. John L | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


A lovely welcome - Rating 5/5

After a long day walking the Cumbria Way the Oddfellows was a very welcoming site. We had plenty of space in our mini suite. The food and drinks from the bar were quick considering it was a fairly busy Saturday evening. Staff were welcoming and considerate.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rachel B | Wed 27th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Oddfellow arms.caldbeck, cumbria - Rating 5/5

I have used the Oddfellows arms several times when walking part of the cumbrian way. It is a great location for the northern Fells. The occommodation this year was excellent value. a large living room and bedroom with a kitchen area. The food was very good and staff helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian W | Sat 3rd Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Visit the North Lakes - Rating 5/5

An excellent stay in this lovely hotel.Very friendly staff and excellent food.Highly recommended.Useful for going up Skiddaw from the North via Bakestall or visiting Mosedale and Mungrisdale.

Reviewer:Mr. Jan B | Mon 6th Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


A restful night inthe northern Lakes - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome from bar staff on arrival. My en-suite had that comparative rarity nowadays:a bath! Much appreciated by the weary legs of this walker. Quiet room. Very large breakfast. Good value.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas Q | Sun 10th May 2015 | 5 years ago


Oasis - Rating 5/5

I've stayed here many times, beautiful place to visit and stay. The staff at the premises are very friendly and above all helpful. I have never stayed anywhere that could beat the way in which the staff actually look after you to the same level. There is a great menu with a good selection of meals that are of an excellent standard. Plus their breakfasts set you you for a long day. I have no hesitation in commending this as a great place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian T | Thu 23rd Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


Paul - Rating 5/5

Excellent pub with friendly staff. Nice clean room &good value

Reviewer:Mr. Paul S | Tue 10th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent visit - staff outstanding

Reviewer:Mr. Henrik E | Wed 17th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Wedding Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed only 2 nights to attend a wedding, although we had booked dinner, because of changes to the wedding pre party we did not end up having it although we were a bit disappointed as the menu looked very good, would not fault the staff nor the selection of drinks and beers on offer.We did have breakfast which I thought was excellent and the service by all the girls was good.And then there's Helen, what an absolute diamond, nothing was to much trouble, helpful, knowledgeable and a brilliant bar maid, we can't praise her enough, if every pub had one of her they would be full every night.The room I'm afraid was not that good, small and cluttered, tired, very tired, ok I suppose if you just want to crash for a night, or if you are a walker and don't care about the finer things, because there are none.I rate the pub and staff 5 star, the rooms maybe 2.

Reviewer:Mr. IanG | Sun 14th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Perfect Break! - Rating 5/5

I was completing the Cumbria Way walk with my young son, and Oddfellows was perfectly located for us.However, we were taken aback first by how perfect the village of Caldbeck was, then by how friendly Oddfellows was!Lovely bar, excellent ales, great food, good, clean rooms, and a smashing breakfast to send us on our way!In the evening the bar had been busy and friendly, the food excellent, and spot on service!If we ever do the walk again we will definitely return to th Oddfellows Arms!

Reviewer:Mr. Adam F | Mon 1st Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Went beyond the normal service level- Rating 5/5

The Oddfellows Arms went beyond the normal service level to make our stay a success.

Reviewer:Mr. John K | Sat 9th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Lakes Visit 2014 - Rating 5/5

I stayed at this very friendly place for the second time this year.The reception as always is very friendly.The room is spacious and comfortable.The village is lovely and quiet and is a great place to visit.Did not have a chance to sample the evening meal this year as I was visiting friends nearby, but the breakfast was excellent and served with a great smile.I would recommend this place to all as a relaxing place to stay

Reviewer:Mr. Jan B | Mon 30th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Wonderful place - Rating 5/5

A comfortable, friendly inn in a beautiful village. Good food and a good night's sleep.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan C | Thu 22nd May 2014 | 6 years ago


overnight stay on cycling trip - Rating 5/5

Delighted with our stay at Oddfellows Arms .Perfect location in lovely village .Staff were always happy to help us with any concerns we had . I would use it again and will recommend it to friends. Many thanks

Reviewer:Mrs. Claire K | Mon 28th Apr 2014 | 6 years ago


Brilliant Stay At Oddfellows - Rating 5/5

We stayed for just one night on 26th October. We had the warmest of welcomes and every member of staff we met was just brilliant. The room, the food and the location of this place is an absolute must do. Thank you Oddfellows Arms and we will be back over the Christmas Holidays for a drink.

Reviewer:Mr. Stewart S | Mon 28th Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


a lovely pub - Rating 5/5

I've stayed here before and my recent stay was just as good as the last,Lovely rooms lovely pub, excellent meals and helpful staff, you can't beat it really :-)

Reviewer:Mr. David C | Sat 7th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Safe & Secure Payment
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Country Retreat